Club XI competition

The Club XI competition originated in the early 1900s when there was an excess of MCC players available to play in the VCA competition teams.

To provide all players with a game of cricket, the MCC organised an internal competition and formed several teams, which were named “A”, “B”, “C”, etc.

Eventually groups of these players who had other common interests (e.g. former school mates) formed their own teams and over the years.

The competition has 23 teams from 14 clubs competing across three divisions. Many of those clubs are ‘old school’ teams, as well as teams from Victorian Premier Clubs aside from the two MCC teams.

The competition remains a private MCC competition under the control of the MCC Cricket sub-committee. The competition convenor is David Talalla.

The Melbourne teams are made up of MCC members and former MCC cricketers, many of whom have represented the club at Premier Cricket level and sometimes state or national level.

The MCC home ground is Beaumaris Secondary College and, when playing away, we enjoy the magnificent facilities provided by the schools associated with the ‘old school’ teams.

Click here for the latest news, results and ladders from the Club XI competition.

For enquiries, please contact MCC Cricket co-ordinator Steven McCooke on